India legend Tendulkar to retire after series with England

Sachin Tendulkar finally admitted that age has taken its toll on him and he has decided to retire after the home series against England.  He also admitted that he has been considering his retirement date lately and acknowledged that he knew before the series that  the end of his extraordinary cricket career was not far away.

‘I’m 39 and I knew don’t I have plenty of cricket left in me, and my performance have not been good.  I am not delivering what is needed.  It is time for me to call it a day.’ Tendulkar told the news channels.

Tendulkar, who holds many major batting records including most runs and most centuries in both tests and limited-overs internationals, said it was natural to think of retirement especially considering his poor performance in the last 15 test matches. ‘It was not abnormal for me to think of it. At that moment, I will concentrate on the rest of the series,’ Tendulkar said.

Tendulkar, who has restricted his participation in one-dayers over the past few years and does not play Twenty20 internationals, said finally quitting all international cricket was a tough decision to make. ‘It’s… been my life. All of a sudden there has come this moment when I have had to say I can’t go on,’ he said. ‘I don’t know what is in store. If I knew, I would not have to wait 22 years to lift the World Cup. Perhaps, I would have done it the first time in Australia in 1992.’

A World Cup title had eluded Tendulkar until India finally clinched it in his home town of Mumbai last year. Speculation about Tendulkar’s future plans was heightened after senior batsmen Rahul Dravid and V.V.S. Laxman announced their retirements this year, and especially after he struggled during a two-test home series against New Zealand in August and September.

Tendulkar was bowled through bat and pad by Kiwi pace bowlers all three times he got to bat, with critics attributing it to his age.  He performance were no different in the first two test against England.

Tendulkar  had earlier said before the series, ‘I need not take a call right now. When I play in November (against England), I will reassess things. I’m still the best judge of what happens to my mind and body. When I feel it is time, I will take a call.’

Earlier this year, Tendulkar became the first batsman to complete a century of international centuries. He has scored 51 centuries in Tests and 49 in one-day internationals – accumulating 15,533 runs in Tests, and 18,426 in one-day internationals.

And suddenly, Chotu was woken up by the noise from the next room, only to realise that he was only dreaming about the news of Sachin’s retirement.  He prayed that his idol for 23 years would go out on a high and not finish his great career in such a pathetic way.  It was time get ready and rush to office.

Disclaimer :

The above post is a fictitious and imaginary story and has nothing to do with any real person.

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “India legend Tendulkar to retire after series with England

  1. VInod Moorthy November 26, 2012 at 10:35 pm Reply

    🙂

Leave a comment